top of page
Search
Writer's pictureaudrey

Let's Talk Estrogen

Updated: Jan 17, 2022

In females, it helps develop and maintain both the reproductive system and female characteristics. Estrogen contributes to cognitive health, bone health, the function of the cardiovascular system, and other essential bodily processes. The ovaries, which produce a woman's eggs, are the main source of estrogen from your body.

In women over 40 years old, low estrogen can be a sign of approaching Menopause. This time of transition is called Perimenopause. During Perimenopause your ovaries will still produce estrogen. Production will continue to slow until you reach Menopause.


Wait! Menopause? I'm 38! I did know my mom went through Menopause "early" but I never actually asked her how early... so when I asked her she said "Oh I don't know around 40"

WHAT? I did NOT know this!!!!


The average age of Menopause is 51 in the US. Menopause is defined by women not having a period for 12 consecutive months. Women have a transitional period called Perimenopausal that may last 4-8 years and start to notice symptoms in their 40s. I most likely have been going through Perimenopause for the past few years and didn't realize it, I had my last baby at almost 36 and started noticing symptoms right around turning 38. I may have noticed symptoms sooner but I started taking hormonal birth control once I stopped breastfeeding so I was still having a monthly bleed.


Common symptoms of low estrogen include:

  • fatigue or sleep issues

  • irregular or absent periods

  • shifts in mood or depression

  • hot flashes and/or night sweats

  • breast tenderness

  • headaches or migraines

  • bone density loss

  • an increase in urinary tract infection (UTIs) due to thinning of the urethra

  • vaginal atrophy - pain during sex, urgency to urinate, dry or itchy vagina due to lack of lubrication


Have you ever heard of a DEXA Scan? I had not prior to the second fertility doctor I met with suggesting that I get one completed based on my low estrogen levels. A DEXA scan is an imaging test that measures bone density (strength). DEXA scan results can provide helpful details about your risk for Osteoporosis (bone loss) and fractures (bone breaks). This test can also measure your body composition, such as body fat and muscle mass.


During the Menopausal transition period, the drop of estrogen leads to more bone resorption than formation, resulting in osteoporosis. Estrogen helps prevent bones from getting weaker by slowing the natural breakdown of bone.


I completed the DEXA Scan in November 2021 which was super quick and easy! They were able to review my results with me that day. My Spine L1, L2, L3 and L4 were all in the normal range yay! But my hips are both in Osteopenia range, which isn't Osteoporosis yet but is concerning for my age. The doctor advised me to start taking a Calcium Supplement with Vitamin D and do at least 20 minutes weight-bearing resistance training daily. Never did I think I would be 39 years old and be worried about Osteoporosis. I've been taking a 600 mg of Calcium with Vitamin D3 400 IU 2x daily and adding walking on the treadmill at least 20 minutes a day to my exercise routine. I enjoy cycling on the Peloton bike however, it's not weight-bearing so it will not help with the bone density loss. I do rotate in light arms & weights interval rides while on the Peloton bike and the doctors said that may have something to do with why my spine is still strong, she said that and "lifting and carrying babies around" hahaha



Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page